So I went with my roommate to a club, to people watch and keep an eye on him. There was so much alcohol. There were so many cigarettes. Everyone looked the same.
I leaned on some sort of ledge and watched most of the time.
I remembered those times in middle and high school, where we would go all sit in the auditorium and someone would come tell us, "beer tastes bad, people drink to have confidence," and it's true. I didn't drink, so hanging out in a bar for me meant I could watch people be ridiculous and no one would notice me. After 10 minutes there I got out my headphones and blasted some music I much preferred.
I'm not one to go out.
I looked at what people were wearing. Now, as a feminist, girls can wear whatever they wanted, but, I believe that clothes should not be worn to impress anyone. And dancing is fine, but do it for fun, don't do it to impress some guy. But hey, what do I know, I went home alone.
My drunk roommate also beat me awfully at darts, which I was not very happy about. We explored the club, I watched him and a lot of other people try to dance, alcohol in hand.
Someone actually came up to me, his name was Max. He talked to me a bit, he didn't go to FSU but he was in the military stationed not too far from here. We watched his friend try to pick up a girl, and talked about skateboarding along with his ex who was from FSU who trampled on his heart. He also introduced me to his third friend. They both said I was *explicit* cool. The third friend said he knew I was too cool when he walked in and I had my headphones in.
Don't worry, I didn't get Max's number. (Kinda wish I did, he seemed really really sweet and was very handsome.)
I didn't go home with anyone, no worries. And I even think I would enjoy going back, because for some reason the people "brave" enough to talk to me are actually cool people, unlike me who's more of a hypocrite.
It was an interesting experience, and I'm glad I had it.
No comments:
Post a Comment