There are a lot of points I would like to touch on regarding the concert I went to.
First, somehow everything with the hotel worked itself out. I accidentally booked it for the wrong date, but thankfully didn't have to pay extra. Hannah came with me which was very lucky. I arrived and braved out my social anxiety which made me sick to my stomach and shake like a little leaf. I got all checked in for the VIP thing and was in line with a hundred or so teenage girls, plus a couple parents and guys. The run-down was given. The girl who looked like an actual college kid took questions and she considered one of mine which I was super happy about even being thought of. The band played a song then sat right in front of us. I was 5 rows away from the stage. They answered some questions and played another song then I went and bought a poster and a new keychain. I hung out at a circular bar ish red bull table and rocked out by myself. Then it poured twice. Thankfully the poster was OK and I had brought a little plastic bag for my wallet and ipod.
After the rain was over the same girl who took questions walked past me and I tapped her on the shoulder and told her how pretty she was. We discussed the rain and I said I am just going to enjoy it if it comes and she said she liked my attitude. Which was actually really cool.
The concert was very loud. Like, ridiculously loud. The opening act was actually really good.
After that I sat there and realized a couple things.
1. I felt really really old and salty about a lot of things. There were so many teenage girls who you could tell didn't care about anything beyond their bubble. I hope I wasn't too much like that when I was 15.
2. The audience was clearly not what the band wanted to play for. The majority was not punk at all, they just dressed the part. The kids who actually were "emo scene punk" that are grown up now had been made outcasts at that age. And being "punk" means enjoying music because it saved our lives. Though I don't look at all punk, there are parts of me that are. And I wasn't super stoked for all of the girly shrieks over how the guys looked. I missed the actual punk rock concerts and seeing people who were bullied or cast aside and ignored in school come together and enjoy music and appreciate the humans who created something that helped save us from ourselves.
Finally concert was over, which was actually really good I was just too salty to fully appreciate it. It was a great experience, I just don't think I will ever go back to a concert like that with that fanbase.
I thought about going out to eat at the Hard Rock Hotel. I loved skateboarding around the parking lot. After I realized I didn't want to make the trek to the hotel, I snuck into a barn. Surprisingly I met a woman there who worked the night shift feeding and checking on the horses. And she had 2 little puppies that I hugged. We talked and apparently her daughter is a junior at FSU on full scholarship. She also told me different programs and opportunities there and in Sarasota working with kids and at barns and stuff. This one horse wouldn't stop neighing and I loved it. She also made sure I didn't have far to ride home.
After leaving, because technically I wasn't supposed to be in there, I skateboarded back past the entrance and caused the tour bus to stop because it was turning perpendicular to where I was riding. I hopped off my board and waved at the driver I think as the bus left. Then I resumed skateboarding past cars and enjoying myself. I also ran across the busy street and made it to the hotel all sweaty. After a shower Hannah took me to Steak and Shake and I found out that Kim's roommate actually saw me at the concert and knew it was me.... which was a little weird and super cool at the same time.
So that's the summary. I got some great pictures and had a new experience.
I'm looking forward to going to the Sleeping with Sirens and All Time Low concert in October and getting smashed against a bunch of crazy insane punk teenagers who don't care about how they look.
No comments:
Post a Comment