Sunday, August 30, 2015

Embarrassment?
So yesterday I walked out of the sliding glass doors and attempted to get on my skateboard. The ham tiles failed me again. Not even 3 seconds later the board hits a loose tile and stops, and I fly off. Of course, I was wearing the "bad luck" dress. Which I need to remember not to do when skateboarding. So the dress flies up and for about 3 seconds I was pretty exposed. Thankfully not many people were around. But I fell right in front of this poor first year boy, who, probably saw a lot of me. I was able to roll and pull the dress back down in those 3 seconds, but my elbow scraped up a bit. The first year, who is my resident, comes over and asks if I'm alright and I'm trying to reassure him I'm ok and I apologize to him a lot and laugh it off. Now, skateboarding in dresses is risky. And I do it still. So it comes with the territory that some guy would see a lot if I was being dumb and fell. 
I wasn't embarrassed, and I guess it's one of the good things about NCF that other people are so much more open than I am, it's not a taboo thing to see others more exposed. But I did feel bad. So now, I don't actually know what makes me embarrassed. I can actually think of one thing.... My mother meeting whoever I date long term. (Cringes.)
Falling means nothing to me anymore. It happens. But I've adopted the "it's ok embarrassing things happen people forget," mentality. It's pretty nice. Because I know most people worry too much about their own mistakes that in a year, most of it disappears. 

No comments:

Post a Comment